Slings & Safari

I have fallen a bit behind with the blog so I will do my best to catch up.

On Tuesday we did our best to look respectable (GMan even wore long trousers) as we were heading to Raffles Hotel and more specifically, the Long Bar, home of the Singapore Sling.

001We strolled through the lush courtyard gardens which simply reeked of another century.

005Then it was time to head upstairs to the Long Bar.

007  Of course we had to have a drink although neither of us had a Singapore Sling.  I opted for the non-alcoholic version which looked like the real deal and was very refreshing while GMan stuck to a tried-and-true cold beer.

I decided against capturing the Long Bar on my camera, but instead decided to simply soak up the atmosphere and munch on a handful (or two) of peanuts.  I did sneak in one shot on my phone which you can see here.

Here is a view of part of the colonnaded verandah with overhead fans and lights.

008That evening we had a complete change of pace when we visited the Night Safari which is a zoo experience adjacent to the main Singapore Zoo.  There are no photographs as I decided not to take my camera as I knew that the lighting was very dim in order to allow the nocturnal animals to continue their normal night-time behaviours.  This proved to be a wise idea as there was no flash photography allowed.

The tram ride with commentary was amazing and then we walked several of the trails ourselves and saw the animals in some of the most natural looking zoo habitats I have ever witnessed.  I would definitely recommend the Night Safari if you visit Singapore and have not been there before.

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

