3 Month Countdown

Yes, only 3 months until we leave so the planning is stepping up a notch.  I have given quite a bit of thought recently to what we will pack and how lightly I can travel.

Here are a couple of purchases I have made recently in my quest to travel as lightly as possible.

Suitcase
This is a new suitcase that I bought.  It only weighs 2.4kg.  Although it technically meets the size requirements for carry-on luggage I will probably check it in.  This is the only luggage I plan to take for a trip of almost 6 weeks in the UK and Ireland.  We will be travelling by train and ferry as well as hiring a car while we are overseas so I want to keep my luggage small for ease of getting on and off trains as well as getting up and down flights of stairs in some of the B & B accommodation.

This is the inside of the case which includes a couple of zip pockets, one of which is plastic and therefore is waterproof.

Inside of case
My other purchase has been 2 pairs of shoes.  These are incredibly light and comfortable.  They weigh a mere 300g per pair and literally feel like walking on air.  I decided to get 2 pairs as I do not like wearing the same shoes every day.  They are comfortable for walking and sightseeing but stylish enough to wear to dinner or the theatre.

Shoes
If we strike really hot weather I can always buy a pair of cheap sandals but I think that is highly unlikely.

Categories: Preparation | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “3 Month Countdown

  1. I remember the joys of shopping for shoes and suitcases. Sometimes it seems long ago and other times only yesterday. We have been back for four months now.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

